

Kansas Board of Cosmetology

714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

Policy – Application for Licensure by Felon Policy Number: 001-12

Approved by the Board: February 16, 2012 Last Updated: July 12, 2021

I. Purpose

a. The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for the Board to handle applications for licensure that indicate the applicant has been convicted of felony.

II. Authority

- a. Conviction of any felony may disqualify an applicant from receiving a license. K.A.R. 69-1-10(a)
- b. Civil records that show an applicant may be disqualified from receiving a license shall be any records of any court judgment or settlement in which the applicant admitted or was found to have engaged in conduct that would constitute a violation of any practice act under the jurisdiction of the board or any of the board's regulations. Those records shall not be used to disqualify an applicant for more than five years after the applicant satisfied any judgment or restitution ordered by the court or agreed to in the settlement. K.A.R. 69-1-10(b)
- c. Any individual with a criminal or civil record described in this regulation may submit a petition to the Board for an informal advisory opinion regarding whether the individual's civil or criminal record could disqualify the individual from licensure. Each petition shall include the following:
 - (1) The details of the individual's civil or criminal record, including a copy of court records or the settlement agreement;
 - (2) an explanation of the circumstances that resulted in the civil or criminal record; and
 - (3) a check or money order in the amount of \$50.00.

K.A.R. 69-1-10(c)

- d. The Board may refuse to issue or renew a license, or revoke, suspend, censure, limit or condition a license for conviction of a felony unless the applicant or licensee is able to demonstrate to the Board's satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust. K.S.A. 65-1908(a)(4).
- e. The Board may revoke, censure, limit or condition, suspend, refuse to issue or renew any license issued under this act, or assess a fine, not to exceed \$1,000 perviolation, on any person or licensee upon proof that a person or licensee has beenconvicted of any felony offense in this or any other state and fails to demonstrate, to the board's satisfaction, that such person or licensee has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public's trust. The board may make recommendations to an applicant as to what constitutes proof of rehabilitation. K.S.A. 65-1947(a) and K.S.A. 65-1947(a)(2).

III. Policy and Procedures

- a. All applicants with felony convictions must accurately answer the felony question the appropriate Board application. If the felony has not been reviewed by the Board, the applicant must submit a completed Felony Reporting Packet with the application including:
 - i. Felony Conviction Disclosure Form
 - ii. Felony Conviction Monitoring Form (if applicable)
 - iii. Copies of court documents charges, convictions, sentencing orders, discharge papers

Kansas Board of Cosmetology



714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002

Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

- b. Documentation is reviewed, and appropriate action is taken
 - i. Applicants who have been convicted of a nonperson felony and who were released from supervision at least one year prior to the date of application are issued a license.
 - ii. Applicants who have been convicted of a person felony and who were released from supervision more than five years from the date of application are issued a license.
 - iii. Applicants who have been convicted of a felony and are currently on probation, parole or supervision will be reviewed by the DisciplinaryPanel.
 - iv. Applicants who have been convicted of a nonperson felony and have been released from supervision less than one year from the date of application will be reviewed by the Disciplinary Panel.
 - v. Applicants who have been convicted of a person felony and have been released from supervision less than five years from the date of application will be reviewed by the Disciplinary Panel.
 - vi. Applicants who have been convicted of a Federal or out of state felony not specified as person or nonperson will be reviewed by counsel to determine policy application.
 - vii. Applicants who fail to submit requested felony documentation within 30 days of request may be subject to disciplinary action.
- c. If a felony reported on an apprentice application requires additional documents or Disciplinary Panel review, a notification will be sent to the student and school notifying each of the delay in processing.
- d. If the Disciplinary Panel approves the application, the applicant will be issued a license.
- e. If the Disciplinary Panel denies the application, the applicant will be issued a summary proceeding order.
- f. Applicants submitting an initial application will be required to answer the following question, "Have you ever been convicted of a felony?" and provide the case number(s) where applicable.
- g. Applicants submitting a renewal will be required to answer the following question, "Have you been convicted of a felony since your last renewal?" and provide the case number(s) where applicable.
- h. Licensees or applicants whose felony convictions have been expunged are not required to disclose the felony on the application. To verify that a licensee or applicant's previously reviewed felony has been expunged, an Order of Expungement from the relevant court must be submitted to the Board.

Laura Gloeckner

Executive Director Kansas Board of Cosmetology